How Many Books Are In the Bible

BibleHow many books are in the bible?

There are 66 books in the Bible.

39 books in the Old Testament, starting with Genesis the story of the beginning of the Earth and Human kind, and ending with Malachi which, among other books, foretells the coming of Jesus Christ.

The New Testament has 27 books beginning with Matthew and the story of Jesus’s life on Earth. The New Testament ends with Revelation which tells how the Earth will end.

Oddly, the last Old Testament prophet, John the Baptist, appears at the beginning of the New Testament.

The books of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John are often called the four gospels and cover all of Jesus’s life on Earth.

Most of the remainder of the New Testament talks about how to have a relationship with Jesus Christ.

How many books are there in the bible? 66.

Photo credit: flickr Creative Commons, Bible by Sean MacEntee